Oatmeal and green tea

NaNoWriMo word count so far: 2637

Good morning, me! That’s how I used to begin my daily pages, although I don’t do those anymore – they never really led to any sort of noticeable breakthrough in my writing. Some things just work better for some people than they do for others, I guess.

This morning I ate the healthiest breakfast EVER. I made a big bowl of oatmeal with flax meal, coconut oil, honey, hemp seeds, cardamom, cinnamon, and a big dollop of almond butter in the middle. The last few bites when the flax-induced “slippery” feeling to the oatmeal sort of overwhelmed me, but aside from that, it was delicious.

I’m also in the process of drinking a whole pot of green tea. Well, it’s green tea blended with yerba mate and lemongrass. The blend was discontinued without me noticing, so my next Guayakí purchase will have to be either plain yerba mate or the chai blend (which looks delicious!).

My “whole pot of green tea” routine has been going on for a few weeks now. Today I felt especially groggy upon waking up, so I decided I’d need something stronger than the Earl Grey green tea I’d been brewing. Hence the yerba mate (which is not tea, per se, but it’s blended with tea so it counts).

On NaNoWriMo: I didn’t mean to skip journaling those first two days, but here I am! I went above and my goal on Sunday, then tanked a little yesterday (only wrote 600 words at 11 p.m.), but I should be able to get back on track today.

Even though my workout clothes haven’t come in yet, I think I’ll take a walk today in my new athletic shoes. I’m definitely not ready to begin jogging! A good walk will be good for my brain, even in the ridiculous heat. I’d heard there would be a Halloween heat wave and didn’t believe it. You’d think a Floridian would know better.

Sweating it out,
-Rhys

Leave a Reply

